What are the requirements for divorce in Pennsylvania?

Each state has certain legal requirements before a divorce can be finalized. These requirements typically relate to waiting periods, jurisdictions, residency and the grounds on which a divorce can be granted.

Pennsylvania law recognizes two kinds of divorce: no-fault divorce and fault divorce. To get a no-fault divorce, the parties must file written statements indicating that they consent to the end of the marriage. Before a no-fault divorce can be finalized, the spouses typically must wait 90 days from the filing of the declaration of consent.

In some no-fault divorces, only one spouse consents. If that is the case, then the spouse seeking a no-fault divorce must file a statement indicating that the marriage has irretrievably broken down and that the parties have lived separately for two or more years.

A fault divorce may be granted for a variety of reasons, including domestic violence, adultery, bigamy, abandonment and one spouse’s imprisonment for at least two years. After fault is proven in court, there is no waiting period for a fault divorce to be granted. It should be noted that proof of fault in a divorce will not affect how marital property will be divided between the spouses, but fault can factor into court decisions regarding spousal support.

If you and your spouse have lived in different states over the course of your marriage, then it is important to know the jurisdiction where your divorce will be granted. To get a divorce in Pennsylvania, you or your spouse must have resided in the state for a minimum of six months. It may also be appropriate to file for divorce in the county where your spouse lives if your spouse currently lives outside of Pennsylvania.

If you have questions about any of these matters, then a Pennsylvania divorce lawyer can offer guidance and help ensure that your rights are protected.


The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters and electronic mail. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.

Privacy Policy

This privacy policy discloses the privacy practices for www.bononiandbononi.com. This privacy policy applies solely to information collected by this web site. It will notify you of the following:

  1. What personally identifiable information is collected from you through the web site, how it is used and with whom it may be shared.
  2. What choices are available to you regarding the use of your data.
  3. The security procedures in place to protect the misuse of your information.
  4. How you can correct any inaccuracies in the information.

Information Collection, Use, and Sharing 
We are the sole owners of the information collected on this site. We only have access to/collect information that you voluntarily give us via email or other direct contact from you. We will not sell or rent this information to anyone.

We will use your information to respond to you, regarding the reason you contacted us. We will not share your information with any third party outside of our organization, other than as necessary.

Unless you ask us not to, we may contact you via email in the future to tell you about specials, new products or services, or changes to this privacy policy.

Your Access to and Control Over Information 
You may opt out of any future contacts from us at any time. You can do the following at any time by contacting us via the email address or phone number given on our website:

  • See what data we have about you, if any.
  • Change/correct any data we have about you.
  • Have us delete any data we have about you.
  • Express any concern you have about our use of your data.

We take precautions to protect your information. When you submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected both online and offline.

We also protect your information offline. Only employees who need the information to perform a specific job (for example, billing or customer service) are granted access to personally identifiable information. The computers/servers in which we store personally identifiable information are kept in a secure environment.


Our Privacy Policy may change from time to time and all updates will be posted on this page.

If you feel that we are not abiding by this privacy policy, you should contact us immediately via telephone at 412-832-2499